Why Not Elope?

Standard

Don’t want to fool with planning your wedding, or hiring someone else to plan it for you? Elope!

It is a lot more common that you think, and if you are looking for something more personal and cheap, eloping is perfect for you.

From Your Tango, I got the Top 10 Best Places to Elope.

1. Napa Valley, Calif.

2. Niagra Falls, N. Y.

3. Manitou Springs, Colo.

4. San Francisco

5. New Orleans

6. Ashford, Wash.

7. Nesbit, Miss.

8. Savannah, Ga.

9. Maui, HI

10. Nantucket, Mass.

Personally, out of this list I would choose to elope to Savannah, Ga. It is such a beautiful place.

If you are from Tennessee, like me, and don’t want to go too far to elope, here are a few suggestions:

In West Tennessee, the most popular places to get married are Graceland’s Chapel and The Veranda!

In Middle Tennesse, go to Nashville! Belmont Mansion, Carnton Plantation, Falcon Rest or Cheekwood are just some of the beautiful options!

In East Tennessee, go to Great Smoky Mountains National Park, Gatlinburg or Pigeon Forge! Gatlinburg is referred to as “The Wedding Chapel of the South.” My parents went there to elope, and they loved it!

Belmont Mansion! 

There are many different reasons to get eloped. It costs less money, it is less to plan, you don’t have to worry about who to invite, and many other things. If you want something more personal with just the two of you, you could elope somewhere and then come back and have a small wedding with just your family! That way you make everyone happy.

I, myself plan on having a medium-sized wedding, but sometimes my dad tells me if I elope that he will buy me a house! Just for kicks: Why don’t you suggest that offer to your parents?

10 responses »

  1. Whenever I think of eloping, my mind automatically goes to the cheesy image of a little white chapel in Vegas. It is interesting reading about these other locations. Eloping is something I would absolutely consider, so when the time comes i’ll just have to check out that list again…especially San Fransisco or Savannah.

  2. I like the idea of eloping because it costs less and sometime I feel like people get married just to have the bug wedding scene when they should be focusing on their new love and life.

    I, myself, am going to have a medium sized wedding as you said you will. (This is all assuming my future husband is down for all for all of this) However, to knock off some cost, I think I am going to find a dress on EBAY because, in my opinion, if you do it right, the dress will be ruined by the time the night is over anyway, no sense in spending a ton on it!

    Great post. I like the idea of the wedding and marriage theme.

  3. Being that it is Valentine’s Day, after reading this blog I have half a mind to go out and elope right now!

    Not really though, I have a test tomorrow.

    I’ve been to the Graceland Chapel before and I could see the attraction to going there to elope.

    The best place I see on here to go on an adventure such as eloping though would be the Great Smoky Mountains National Park! The scenery there would be unbelievable and it would be a nice place to get away from everything for awhile to spend time with that special someone.

  4. I personally want to have a huge wedding. Not just because it is traditional, its just how I always pictured it. I don’t think eloping is a good idea. I feel like it is a secret that is being kept from a lot of people. However, these places are beautiful. If I was to consider to elope it would be at one of the locations

  5. This is a very interesting blog post. I have a big family and many close friends who I would want to come to my wedding, so a big wedding was all I had pictured prior to reading this. However, the idea of eloping sounds wonderful after the things you had to say and the pictures you had to post. I would elope somewhere out West on the coast if that came down to being my choice. Great ideas and photos, keep up the good work!

    Oh, and best of luck tonight! 🙂

  6. I would consider eloping if my parents could be there. I sort of think it might be selfish to do this without them. Unless, the idea of having a small wedding is very appealing to me I would not elope.

  7. I have never thought of elpoing for me, but my sister claims that she would love that alternative over a big wedding. I do realize that it would save a lot of money, and my parents gave her the offer of allowing her to use all the money that we would spend on a wedding on her honeymoon. She is excited because this gives her the longest and best honeymoon that any of us will have in our family. I personally would want to make sure that I have many family and friends there, but these are some great tips for those who are considering it! Keep it up MK!! =)

  8. This is a very interesting post. I feel like people don’t usually take eloping seriously, at least I never have. For me, it always has the connotation of a cop out wedding, but I realize that is a very naive and rather foolish perspective. Although I don’t think I would want to elope for my wedding, I don’t want a big wedding either. I would definitely keep it pretty small.

Leave a Reply

